The Valley of Geysers was discovered quite recently, in 1941, by the employee of the reserve Tatyana Ustinova, while the Kronotsky Reserve has existed since 1934. Tatyana Ustinova and her guide Itelmen Anisifor Krupenin went on a dog sled in search of the left tributary of the Shumnaya River in April 1941. Having found the expected tributary, the researchers went upstream, but the weather began to deteriorate, and they were forced to turn back. But suddenly, from the opposite bank of the brook, a fountain of boiling water burst out straight in their direction. So the first geyser was found, later called the Firstborn. For the second time, in July of the same year, Tatyana Ustinova and Anisifor Krupenin have already walked around and described this unique natural object.